You're not logged in!
Face of Mankind / Chronicles

Countries of the Eastern block join the EU

The Eastward expansion of the EU planned since the late 1990s has finally begun. Today, on the 22nd of December, 2010, ten countries were inducted as new members of the European Union. The new member nations are: Poland, The Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. Therewith the European Union's population has grown to over 450 million people. Integration of the new countries into the political and economic structure of the EU will not be completed until end of 2011. The Polish government was very excited about the decision to accept them into the European Union despite Poland's national debt being somewhat in excess of the EU-limits.

"This is an historic day for our nation and for the Polish people. We are proud to be part of such an influential alliance," stated Polish President Igor Mulaiew.

Peter Brent, 22nd of December 2010